3 Life-Changing Quotes from God’s Generals by Roberts Liardon   4 comments

I've been reading this amazing book for 4 years and I can't get enough...

I’ve been reading this amazing book for 4 years and I can’t get enough…

One day I casually said to my pastor, ‘I seem to buy books about people who were drug addicts’. Being the astute man of God he is, his response was ‘you should buy God’s Generals and stop buying these books!’ Being the astute Richard Walker I am, I learned two things: 1) I really like biography books and 2) I’m nuts.

Maybe I’m a nosy parker, but I like reading about people’s lives. My favourite book as a kid was ‘The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole aged 13 3/4‘ by the late Sue Townsend. Even though it’s a work of fiction, I just liked the feeling that I was inside someone’s head and opinions. I like to know what goes on in the minds of people, and what makes them do what they do. I like to observe strengths and weaknesses of others and try use it in my own life. Even from secular people you can gain a fair amount of godly wisdom – even if it’s just ‘never eeeeever do this’. Biographies excite me to no end!

So you can imagine how I felt when I discovered God’s Generals: Why They Succeeded and Why Some Failed.’ This book by Roberts Liardon is a heavily-researched biography of twelve men of God who lived between the 1800s and 1900s. It includes some of the most famous and controversial ministers of the western world, including Kathryn Kuhlman, Smith Wigglesworth, AA Allen, and Aimee Semple McPherson.

God’s Generals has taught me so much about how to get into ministry and the traps of Satan. This book has introduced me to many men of God – not only those who were profiled, but some mentioned in passing. Of the top of my head, I’ve drawn similarities in my life with Evan Roberts. I’ve been encouraged by the tragedies in the lives of Maria Woodworth-Etter and AA Allen. I’ve taken the note of caution from William Branham. I’ve totally fallen in love with Aimee Semple McPherson. (If her anointing has passed to a lady my age, I’m totally putting a ring on her finger. πŸ˜€ )

I am comfortable saying God’s Generals is one of the best and most crucial books I’ve ever read. I want to be a minister for our Lord Jesus, and this book is essential to me for that reason. If you don’t want to work for the Lord, this book may not fascinate you much. But if you are aspiring to be a minister, aside from hearing from God Himself, there’s nothing better you can do than learn from those who went before you.

Enough hype! Here’s what you came for: some quotes from Roberts Liardon’s classic book.

Also, we must love God more than we love anything else. When I was a young boy, I felt impressed to quit playing basketball. But at the time, I knew what God had called me to do, and it seemed I loved basketball more than I loved to pray. So I quit playing basketball. God had set the plan for my life. I agreed to it, and prayer became my life-giving force. It’s fine to enjoy life. Just make sure you don’t love more than God.

Incredible. Just let that one soak in. I once did something similar when I gave up a wrestling career for Jesus, and when I read this I was 100% assured I had done the right thing. John Cena’s a nice guy, but I’d rather be like the original JC: Jesus Christ. 😎

Aimee truly believed that the church had grown too cold and formal, while the world’s love for entertainment brought them encouragement, joy, and laughter. She also felt this to be the reason why so many Christians were hungry for entertainment.

Aimee Semple McPherson and a monkey. I wish I knew exactly how she used it to win to people to the kingdom of God!

Aimee Semple McPherson and a monkey. I wish I knew exactly how she used it to win to people to the kingdom of God!

I love Sister Aimee so much because she I think was bang on the money. Aimee built her church in Los Angeles, CA, in a time that theatre and cinema was growing. She understood that people craved joy and happiness and the coldness of churches could drive people away from Jesus. Her response was to let her creativity show as much as her spirituality. Angelus Temple (her church) was constantly filled with music that she wrote. She preached great sermons and used theatre props to illustrate her messages, almost like a giant production. Her results were tremendous as she regularly filled her five-thousand seater church hall.

What I have learned is to let my creativity, energy, and humour help me to serve God. The Lord wants every part of me, and that includes my personality. That’s why I have The Richie Rich Show, or why I preach on the streets using funny examples – the kingdom of God is righteousness, peace, and joy in the Spirit! We are happy believers! It must show because it is attractive! The joy of the Lord is way more attractive than Keeping Up With The Kardashians or The Simpsons. Let’s show the world!

Every talent and gift you have can be used for God. Dance, media, cooking, speaking, acting, decorating, designing, writing… everything you do God gave to you. Use it for his glory!

[Jack Coe] had the kind of independence that it takes to keep you on the cutting edge. It is when we base our lives and faith on the words of men, or the horrors of our past, that we are defeated. But when we pursue and run after the cry of our hearts, God will meet us every time and manifest his glory.

My lesson from this: when someone you treasure the opinion of tells you something awful about you, you might feel depressed. But when God has put something in your heart, run after it and leave depressing those words in the dust. Jack Coe grew up an orphan, but brought Jesus’ love to many other orphans because he stamped on his past and surged forward. We can be the same… πŸ™‚

What more can I say? Buy God’s Generals: Why They Succeeded and Why Some Failed. From the lessons inside, you can become closer to being a successful minister in the eyes of the Lord.

Buy this book and other best-selling Roberts Liardon books at:

https://store.robertsliardon.org

http://www.amazon.co.uk

http://www.amazon.com

4 responses to “3 Life-Changing Quotes from God’s Generals by Roberts Liardon

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. NICE

  2. I just love what is in this book here ladies and gentlemen. Am eagerly looking for for this book ever. Someone assist me please.

  3. Awesome; I’m reading The Revivalists myself. John Wesley is a don! πŸ˜€

  4. Bang! You hit the nail on its head. I’m reading The Missionaries and loving it too!

Leave a Reply

