How to Heal a Broken Heart in 1 Step   1 comment

I messed up my hand on evangelism recently. :( But this what the Lord does to your broken heart - heals and binds up your wounds. Psalm 147:3

I messed up my hand on evangelism recently. 😦 But this what the Lord does to your broken heart – heals and binds up your wounds. Psalm 147:3

I saw a post about a broken heart (Hi Rhoda πŸ˜€ ) and I’ve been reminded of the time my little heart was broken. I’d asked a girl to marry me and that relationship broke down… but that wasn’t what caused it. πŸ˜› πŸ˜› No, what happened was far more selfish than that. When I was 19, I wanted to be the youth ministry leader in our church very passionately and I didn’t get the position – someone else did.

I knew the right thing was that God set the person there and that He had made the right decision. (Psalm 75:6) But because of what I set my heart on – a position in the church and not God Himself – I was so disappointed. It took months to show up, but before I knew it my feelings were out of control.

My emotions were very real. I know a broken heart is a metaphor for the feelings you feel, but I remember my chest and my brain would hurt whenever I thought about what was going on. I just didn’t understand… why? (I sound like a baby, I know.)

How was my broken heart healed? At the time I searched the Bible on ‘broken heart’ and I found this…

He heals the brokenhearted and bandages their wounds.
Psalm 147:3 NLT

Soon after discovering that scripture, I did the only thing I felt I could do – I prayed and took my heart to God for fixing. I don’t remember my exact prayers, but I spent at least one whole night talking to God about it. Between tongues and English, I just tried to tell Him about the volcano of emotions that was Richard Walker…

I don’t know how long it took for me to feel alright about everything, but I know that then I felt my life was over and now I laugh about it and understand why everything happened the way it did. God took care of everything, counselled me in various ways and put me in circumstances to heal up. What a mighty God we serve!

So that’s how my heart was broken and how it was healed. This isn’t exactly a self-help article because I don’t think this is a self-help matter. The Lord made our emotions and He knows how to fix them. We take our iPhones and iPads back to Apple Stores to deal with because they are the manufacturers, right? (Or at least you’re supposed to :mrgreen: ) Why not take your heart to the manufacturer in prayer and see what He can do?

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.
Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:6-7 NLT

One response to “How to Heal a Broken Heart in 1 Step

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reblogged this on TisRhoda.

Leave a Reply

