7 Years of Being Born Again! And Other Random Stuff   Leave a comment

This was my breakfast at work... No hash brown as I'm cutting down the deep fried stuff in my life.

This was my breakfast at work… No hash brown as I’m cutting down the deep fried stuff in my life.

I’m on my break and I thought I’d write a quick blog on how I am in the heart and mind, with some random bits.

17th of August I celebrated being Born Again by Christ for 7 years! I thank God fully! I wanted to write an article about it and what has kept me in the faith but I didn’t get around to finishing it. Maybe in September when I’m a bit less tied up…

I’ll just tell you anyway though – I have lasted 7 years in Christianity because of church. Who I am and what I do, I owe it all to church. Being a Christian without going to church is like driving a car without a key… It isn’t how the manufacturer intended it to run. Going to church every week has so many benefits. Staying at home and sometimes praying is NOT THE SAME. God has specific blessings for us when we gather together with other believers.

One of the benefits is joy. I’m so happy to be at church every week. No matter how my week has been, the house of God lifts me up again. The Notting Hill Carnival ended yesterday, with many young people getting plastered and running around after chicks in sexy clothes. But you don’t need that to be happy as a Christian. You can be joyful in the house of God! There ain’t no party like the Holy Ghost party, cuz the Holy Ghost party don’t stop… 😉

I’m not very happy at the moment. Today I arrived to work extremely late to work. No one is punishing me (yet) but of course, I am only costing myself money. In fact, I haven’t been on time to work in about 2 weeks. On top, yesterday was not a brilliant day either. I left work without having a meeting I was scheduled for because I was shattered. I had to buy overpriced fast food as I was so hungry and after oversleeping in a nap, I missed a bass guitar lesson I was giving. Then of course, I was late again today by 40 minutes.

I’m a huge melancholic and I pay attention to time, so being late and missing meetings is really disappointing to me personally. One thing I have learned from wrestling is not to be late and unprepared. When John Cena, CM Punk and other wrestlers have a WWE show starting at 7pm, they arrive at the arenas from hours beforehand, sometimes 5 whole hours before showtime. Nobody strolls in 10 minutes before their match. Attention to detail like that is why WWE is a successful, reliable business. And when people in the world do good things that Christians often don’t, it really irks me.

In my mind I always strive to be on time or early, but I have backslidden in that area. Tiredness must not be an excuse anymore! I have to strive for excellence again in punctuality to church, to work, for uni lectures and deadlines, and every meeting.

At the moment, I’m leaning on Psalm 23. My situation isn’t exactly comparable to death, but I will not fear any evil as I pass through this valley. God will lead me onto his paths of righteousness, in Jesus’ name. I will improve, and I will make it onto the other side and laugh again. 🙂

-On a lighter note, I missed four calls yesterday – two from one number, two from another. I called back the second number and someone was asking me (with my name!) if I had any weed for him. Weed. After I said ‘I think you have the wrong number dude.’ He said something about ‘dude’ and hung up abruptly. Umm… Ok then. Upon reflection, I decided not to call the first number back.

-Sunday at church, a soul I met on evangelism came to church and was Born Again by Jesus Christ. Later that day he moved into a new hostel. It is a touching story of homelessness, addiction and redemption through the love of Jesus Christ. I will never stop preaching about heaven and hell, and the love shown to us by God. Perhaps I’ll tell you this man’s whole story one day.

-I recently opened the Guitar and Bass portal on the blog (click here to jump to it!), and I have some more new ideas for Christian content. How about… A monthly poll for the blog. Maybe a Christian book of the month too? I used to love these sorts of things on my old Mortal Kombat website, so let’s try it out soon! As for new videos as well, let’s just say… #4 is coming, and so is The Richie Rich Show. 😀 Stay tuned.

Well, I gotta finish my break. This has been your regular host… Mr First Class! :mrgreen:

Posted 27th August 2013 by ukrichardwalker in Blog, Evangelism, My Thoughts, Young People

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

